First Night of the Hunger Games!

My hands tremble as I decide between life and death. I am faced with a life altering decision that I never thought I would have to make. As Duncan and I sit on the tree limb in the cool night with, three tributes armed with arrows stand at the bottom of the tree pointing them at us. They tell us they will compromise by saying “One come down and we will leave the other alone for now.” I have to live for my sister I have to go home. Duncan looks at me and in one moment I gave him a push. He wobbles for a second and then falls to his death. I sit there shaking not knowing what to do now. I can’t believe what I had just done I vowed not to do exactly that. I am scared of the monster that the capitol has brought out in me. This all there game this just entertainment for them. I know I have to climb down and run. So I climbed down and ran as fast as I could. As I slow down I hear the thick layer of laves crackle turn quickly it is Anne Foyer from district 2.

I don’t know what to do I don’t have any weapons to threaten her with. She told me that she wouldn’t kill me if I helped her find food. What choice did I have i had to help her I wanted to live. As we talked strategy we became close and now have an alliance going. She is has very good qualities that will surely help me. We decided to make the bush where we met a meeting spot. We also had a call in case one of us was surrounded and trapped.  My heart pumped so fast because Anne could kill me anytime she wanted to. I had nothing no weapons or protection. I looked up the fake stars twinkling in the night.it got darker as the night went on Anne and I decided to split up and meet every day to talk about what was going on. I find a nice cave to hide in for the night just to think about everything that has just happened. I can’t believe I actually pushed someone to their death. But it could have been me. It was hard to relax I couldn’t get a sense of security. I knew I wasn’t safe; anywhere I couldn’t go anywhere where it was 100% safe.

3 Comments on First Night of the Hunger Games!

  1. 4kerryn
    May 22, 2014 at 5:06 pm (10 years ago)

    Wow! What a plot twist when you pushed Duncan off the tree branch to his death. This writing was very intense and I could really visualize what was happening. There were a few mistakes such as you past and present text. There were also a few capitation errors and punctuation errors but all three of those mini mistakes can be fixed easily. Overall I thought that you wrote a very well written essay and I am looking forward to read the next one.

    Reply
  2. 4rebecca
    May 22, 2014 at 5:07 pm (10 years ago)

    Your post was pretty good, there were a lot of grammatical and punctuation errors, there were commas where they weren’t needed and no commas when they were needed. Also, you would continually switch between present and past tense, making the story a little hard to follow. The piece was good, but it could have been a lot better.

    Reply
    • 4gia
      May 23, 2014 at 12:07 pm (10 years ago)

      The piece had a lot of little mistakes that you could had picked up if you read over it. There were also a few times where you switched tense. However it had a lot of sensory details and I liked it a lot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply