Ladies and Gentlemen, let the Eightieth Hunger Games begin!

As I stand on the thick metal circle the sweat rolls down my cheek. All I am thinking about is my family and I stand there holding my necklace. As the time count down 3,2,1… I run on the harsh sand away from the blood bath that is going on at the cornucopia. I keep running and the sweat is pouring out of me now. I can only think that I have to get far enough so no one will find me. I find a nice tree to climb and do exactly that. I sit there thinking about what to do next. I hear someone running toward the tree I am in yelling my name. It is Duncan the other tribute from my district. I climb down the tre and ask him what he did when the gong sounded. He told me that he ran and didn’t stop. We are safe for now he said the others went to the other part of the arena. It was hot I was sweating bullets and breathing in humidity. I am scared because this horrific time has just begun.

As nightfall came the temperature dropped. We decided to get some sleep for an hour or so. Of course I didn’t sleep I was to worried Duncan was going to kill me or trick me into doing something. As I sat there I heard 5 booms that meant 10 were dead now there are only 17 after me and Duncan. As I am stargazing I hear a loud screech like nothing I will ever forget. I climb back up the tree and try to see what is going on. I look around and see a tribute I couldn’t make out who it was but they were being eaten alive. As I listen for anything suspicious I hear footsteps. I climb down the tree as fast as I can yell at Duncan to get up we need to get up the tree now. My life is flashing before my eyes and I don’t know what is going to happened now.

3 Comments on Ladies and Gentlemen, let the Eightieth Hunger Games begin!

  1. 4kerryn
    May 20, 2014 at 5:14 pm (10 years ago)

    I thought that you went into good detail with your essay but I believe that you could have gone even deeper. There were a few spelling errors such as tre when you meant to say tree. But that is a very easy fix. You also could of waited a little longer until you actually heard the gong. You could have said how you were feeling standing on the platform and what you were seeing. But other than those few mistakes that are easy to fix I thought that you did a great job! Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  2. 4rebecca
    May 20, 2014 at 5:25 pm (10 years ago)

    Your post was pretty good, I liked how you met up with the other tribute from your district, but I kind of wish you described the arena as you ran through the trees or waited for the Games to start. If you had done so, I think I would have had an easier time visualizing what was happening. Also, there were a few grammatical mistakes that could have easily been fixed if you proof read again. Overall it was good and I really enjoyed reading it.

    Reply
  3. 4gia
    May 20, 2014 at 10:22 pm (10 years ago)

    “I am scared because this horrific time has begun.” In this sentence you switched the tense of the piece. You also told and did not show especially in the the second paragraph. Instead you should have shown that you climbed up the tree rather than just saying that you did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply